The standard passport validity requirement is six months higher than the scheduled departure date for the United States. However, the United States has signed agreements with a number of countries to waive this requirement. [92] [87] While all participating nations must grant reciprocal visa exemptions to U.S. citizens (usually ninety days for tourism or commercial purposes), Australia is the only nation to require U.S. citizens[67] to apply for an Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) which, in DerTat, is a visa stored electronically in a computer system of the Australian Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC). ETA has replaced visa-free travel to Australia and the only nation that has granted visa exemption to Australia is New Zealand under the Trans-Tasman Travel Arrangement (instead of not applying for a visa, NZ citizens are automatically admitted upon arrival). A passport holder must apply for and purchase an ETA through an authorized travel agency, airline or DIAC`s official website[68] before departing for Australia. However, because the ETA process is relatively formless, the United States recognizes it as the equivalent of visa exemption. Citizens of the European Union and other European countries must apply for an eVisitor electronic travel authorization to travel to Australia, similar to the ETA programme, but free of charge.

[69] Australian government policy is similar to that of the United States, which requires visa waiver program participants to apply for an EEA in the same way. [Citation required] In the past, the Northern Mariana Government had granted entry permits instead of visas. Citizens of all countries in the visa waiver program were exempt from the entry permit for visitors, as were citizens of Taiwan and passport holders of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and British National Level Passports (Overseas). [72] [73] [74] In accordance with the former island immigration policy, citizens of the following countries or jurisdictions have been barred from entering the northern Mariana Islands: Algeria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Cuba, Egypt, Eritrea, Fujian Province of China, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Myanmar, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen. [75] On 17 June 2008, Bulgarian Foreign Minister Ivailo Kalfin and US Minister of Homeland Security Michael Chertoff signed an interim agreement under the visa waiver programme, as reported by the press service of the Bulgarian Foreign Ministry in a statement. [46] (c) Recognized refugees and stateless persons, as well as others who no longer reside in a Member State and who hold a travel document issued by that Member State, may stay within six months without a visa for ninety days. Expression of the Member States: Schengen Member States; The ten states joined the European Union on 1 May 2004, as well as Romania, Bulgaria and Croatia. Arrest or conviction alone does not allow a person to use the visa waiver program. You are not eligible if you do not meet the program requirements. However, some U.S. embassies advise these individuals to apply for a tourist visa, although there is no legal obligation for the person to do so.

[87] There is no recourse if a CBP official decides to refuse entry unless you have a visa if an appeal can be filed with an immigration judge. The requirements of the visa waiver program are as follows: on 30 November 2016, the Indian authorities authorised the liberalisation, simplification and rationalisation of the visa regime in India.